• Thursday, Jun 01, 2023
  • Last Update : 06:33 pm

Brilliant Shakib leads Bangladesh to series win in Zimbabwe

  • Published at 01:09 pm July 18th, 2021

Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor won the toss and elected to bat first against a high-flying Bangladesh team in the second and penultimate ODI at Harare Sports Club Sunday

All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan scored an excellent unbeaten 96 as Bangladesh defeated Zimbabwe by three wickets in their second One-Day International at the Harare Sports Club on Sunday to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-game series.

Zimbabwe posted a competitive 240 for nine in their 50 overs, but the tourists chased the total down with five balls remaining, largely thanks to Shakib's unbeaten half-century which came off 109 balls.

After the home side elected to bat, Wessley Madhevere (56) top scored but found little support in the lower order, as left-arm seamer Shoriful Islam (4-46) was the pick of the bowlers.

Bangladesh were in trouble at 173 for seven in their reply, before Shakib and Mohammad Saifuddin (28 not out) put on an unbeaten 69 in 10.4 overs for the eighth wicket to see them to victory.

The third ODI will be played at the same venue and will be followed by three Twenty20 Internationals. 

Tigers remained unchanged as their counterpart Zimbabwe made two changes - Sikandar Raza and Tinashe Kamunhukamwe are in, replacing Burl and Maruma - both injured.

With a record 155-run win in the first game, visitors Bangladesh look to maintain their dominance and win the second match to secure yet another 10 points in the ICC Men’s World Cup Super League, and the series with a game to spare.

Also Read: Tamim: It's important to credit small contributions too

The winning margin in the first match was Bangladesh’s biggest by runs in an away ODI.

Bangladesh can also drive confidence from the batting display they showed in the first game.

The tourists had a shaky start losing Tamim Iqbal and Shakib al Hasan early, as the scoreboard soon turned 74 for four.

Right-handed batsman Liton Das amid the pressure pulled off a sensational century and become part of an innings-building 93-run stand with Mahmudullah for the fifth wicket.

Liton registered his fourth ODI hundred, and third against Zimbabwe, as he paced the 102-run innings superbly.

Zimbabwe: 1 Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, 2 Tadiwanashe Marumani, 3 Regis Chakabva (wk), 4 Brendan Taylor (capt), 5 Dion Myers, 6 Sikandar Raza, 7 Wesley Madhevere, 8 Luke Jongwe, 9 Blessing Muzarabani, 10 Tendai Chatara, 11 Richard Ngarava

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal (capt), 2 Liton Das (wk), 3 Shakib Al Hasan, 4 Mohammad Mithun, 5 Mosaddek Hossain, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Afif Hossain, 8 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 9 Mohammad Saifuddin, 10 Taskin Ahmed, 11 Shoriful Islam