• Tuesday, Sep 27, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

New Zealand beat Bangladesh by 52 runs in third T20I

  • Published at 09:40 am September 5th, 2021
Bangladesh's Nurul Hasan dives to make the crease during their third T20I at home to New Zealand Sunday AFP

The Kiwis now trail the home side 1-2 with the fourth match taking place Wednesday at the same venue

New Zealand kept the five-match T20I series against Bangladesh very much alive after ousting the Tigers by a convincing margin of 52 runs in the third game at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Sunday.

The Kiwis now trail the home side 1-2 with the fourth and penultimate match taking place Wednesday at the same venue.

Chasing 129 on yet another slow and low wicket in Mirpur, the hosts fell well short as they were bundled out for 76 in 19.4 overs with Mushfiqur Rahim unbeaten at the end on a patient 37-ball 20, the highest of a disappointing Bangladesh innings.

This was Bangladesh's joint second lowest total after also being dismissed for the same total away to the same opposition early in April this year.

Only openers Liton Das (15) and Mohammad Naim (13) reached double digit as the Tigers' wait grew of a maiden T20I series win over the Kiwis.

After the Bangladesh openers put on 23, the remaining 10 wickets fell for just 53 runs.

Neither the home nor the visiting side scored a six, first time this has happened in a T20I between two Test-playing nations.

Slow bowlers Ajaz Patel (4/16) and Cole McConchie (3/15) put the Bangladesh batters in all sorts of trouble, giving away a combined 31 runs in their eight overs, while fellow spinner Rachin Ravindra and medium pacers Scott Kuggeleijn and Colin de Grandhomme picked up a wicket each.

New Zealand earlier posted a modest 128/5 in their 20 overs; Henry Nicholls (36*) and Tom Blundell (30*) rescuing their side with a 66-run stand for the unbroken sixth wicket.

New Zealand captain Tom Latham had won the toss and elected to bat first.

Bangladesh remained unchanged from their first two games of the series, while the Kiwis made three changes with Finn Allen, Kuggeleijn and Jacob Duffy coming into the side in place of John Bracewell, Ben Sears and Hamish Bennett.

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Shakib al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah (c), Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan (w), Mahedi Hasan, Saifuddin, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

New Zealand (Playing XI): Finn Allen, Rachin Ravindra, Will Young, Tom Latham (w/c), Colin de Grandhomme, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell, Cole McConchie, Scott Kuggeleijn, Ajaz Patel, Jacob Duffy

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail