• Thursday, Dec 08, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

BCB EC confirms list of 171 councilors

  • Published at 10:12 am September 22nd, 2021

The 171 councilors in three categories will elect 23 directors to run cricket in the country for the next four years

The election commission for the upcoming election of the Bangladesh Cricket Board [BCB] has confirmed 171 councilors. The commission in a press release on Wednesday also announced October 6 as the day for the contest.

The 171 councilors in three categories will elect 23 directors to run cricket in the country for the next four years.

The councilors will elect 10 directors in category one [division and district], 12 directors from category two [Dhaka league clubs] and one director in category three [involving public university, former cricketers and government agencies]. Two directors will be nominated by the National Sports Council [NSC]. Ahmed Sajjadul Alam and Jalal Younus have already confirmed their nominations as BCB directors from the NSC.

The election commission is scheduled to release the draft voter’s list on Wednesday while the counselors will be able to submit nomination on Friday and Saturday. The nomination papers will be vetted on September 28 the following day has been slated for withdrawal and declaration of the final list of contestants for the election.

The board earlier this month had named a five-member election commission for conducting the upcoming Board of Directors' Election 2021.

Also Read: Nazmul urges contest in BCB president post

The current term of the BCB Board of Directors under Nazmul Hasan is set to end this month. Though there is provision of holding the election in 45 days, the BCB will not wait given the current board is looking to handover the charge to the new board before ICC T20 World Cup which is set to begin in mid-October.

Nominated by the government, Nazmul had first stepped in the BCB as president in 2012. In 2013 he emerged as the first elected president but had remained uncontested and the scenario was similar in 2017 election.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail