• Friday, Jan 27, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

How man of the match is decided at World Cup

  • Published at 06:05 pm June 21st, 2018
  • Last updated at 06:05 pm June 21st, 2018
Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo poses with the player of the match award following their World Cup Group B match against Morocco in Moscow Wednesday

Man of the match award is a key feature in every sport and it is no different at the 2018 Fifa World Cup. Named after sponsor Budweiser, the player of the match accolade is chosen by fans across the world through online platforms.

This is an old process by Fifa to engage fans to the game and on several occasions there have been controversies regarding a few selections. The recent one was Portugal captain Cristiano Ronaldo’s selection as the man of the match after their hard-fought win against Morocco in Moscow Wednesday. 

Many claimed he was not in control of the whole match, except the moment when he scored the all-important goal early in the first half. On the field, Morocco were the better team. Even Ronaldo’s teammate, goalkeeper Rui Patricio was a good contender for the title. Patricio made some wonderful saves to ultimately keep the Moroccans at bay.

Through Fifa’s digital platforms on Fifa.com, the FifaApp and Twitter, fans can easily vote for the player they feel is deserving of the individual post-match award in Russia. If you are following the greatest show on earth on Fifa.com, you will be able to cast your vote in the Live Blog during every match. Voting opens when the second half begins and you can vote, and even change your choice, until the game ends.

This system often sees popular figures or goal-scorers win the man of the match award. But as it is, most of the fans don’t do their proper homework or in-depth analysis. Only on the rare cases does a goalkeeper land the award in the event of some outstanding saves.

If you notice the last few matches of this World Cup, all the big names who scored for their country in the form of Spaniard Diego Costa, Dane Christian Eriksen, Uruguayan Luis Suarez and Englishman Hary Kane claimed the award. 

In many leagues or championships, they have football pundits or commentators who decide the best player of the match but perhaps in Russia, voting by fans more often than not will ensure that the most deserving player might just miss out on the accolade.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail