• Wednesday, Aug 17, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Modric wins World Cup Golden Ball

  • Published at 02:56 am July 16th, 2018
  • Last updated at 02:57 am July 16th, 2018
Croatia's Luka Modric poses with the Golden Ball trophy following their World Cup final against France in Moscow Sunday Reuters

Croatia captain Luka Modric won the Golden Ball award for the World Cup's best player despite being on the losing side to France in a thrilling final in Moscow Sunday.

Modric was named man-of-the-match three times in Croatia's seven games in Russia, but even the Real Madrid midfielder was powerless to stop France's firepower and the rise of 19-year-old Kylian Mbappe.

The Paris Saint-Germain forward won the young player of the tournament award after scoring his fourth goal of the competition in the final, which France won 4-2.

Belgium captain Eden Hazard finished second in the running for the Golden Ball, with France's Antoine Griezmann, who also scored his fourth goal of the tournament in the final, coming third.

Belgium's Thibaut Courtois won the Golden Glove award for the best goalkeeper. 

Despite Griezmann and Mbappe getting on the scoresheet, England's Harry Kane claimed the Golden Boot for his six goals.


Best player (Golden Ball): Luka Modric (Croatia)

Highest scorer (Golden Boot): Harry Kane (England)

Best young player: Kylian Mbappe (France)

Best goalkeeper (Golden Glove): Thibaut Courtois (Belgium)