• Wednesday, May 25, 2022
  • Last Update : 03:54 pm

Kings clinch maiden Federation Cup title

  • Published at 06:32 pm January 5th, 2020
Bashundhara Kings
Bashundhara Kings players celebrate after winning the Federation Cup 2019 in Dhaka Dhaka Tribune

Kings, who were runners up of the Federation Cup last time before becoming champions in the Premier League, became the seventh team to clinch the trophy after Abahani Limited, Mohammedan Sporting Club, Brothers Union, Muktijoddha Sangshad, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club and Sheikh Russel KC

Daniel Colindres netted a brace as Bashundhara Kings clinched their maiden Federation Cup title, putting an end to Rahmatganj’s historic run with a 2-1 victory in the entertaining final at Bangabandhu National Stadium Sunday.

The Costa Rican World Cup participant took the lead for the Kings with a header late in the first half, before Gambian striker Momodou Bah equalized with an even better header. However, a massive howler by Rahmatganj goalkeeper Rasel Mahmud Liton let Colindres steal the winner.

Bashundhara are the seventh club to win the 40-year-old Federation Cup trophy, after Abahani Limited (11), Mohammedan SCL (10), Muktijoddha SKC, Brothers Union, Sheikh Jamal DC (3) and Sheikh Russel KC (1).

Thousands of Rahmatganj fans thronged the galleries of Abahani and Mohammedan to watch their first ever final in 87 years, while a similar number of Bashundhara supporters were buzzing at the eastern stands.

With both the sides fielding unchanged line-ups, Colindres started from where he left of in the dominant semifinal win over Police FC. Although playing in the center-forward role, he appeared to be everywhere- taking corners, free kicks, and whipping in trademark crosses.  

Matin Mia led an early attack in the 2nd minute, as the winger sprinted past a couple of defenders to break inside. However, his less-than-impressive final effort earned Colindres a corner, from which Baktyiar Duishobekov’s header bounced over. 

Photo: Dhaka Tribune

Nicolas Delmonte’s header from a Colindres cross six minutes later was denied by Nahidul Islam’s goal-line clearance.

Rahmatganj stemmed Bashundhara’s early threats with counter attacks, and went close to scoreing at the quarter-hour mark. Turaev Akobir split the Kings defence apart with a precise cross, but Anisur Rahman Zico made a splendid reaction save to keep out the effort from Suhel Mia.

Rahmatganj conceded the opener in the 41st minute while playing with ten men, as in-form Tajik center-back Acpopob Asrorov was off the pitch injured. Colindres converted man-of-the-match Bishwanath Ghosh’s pin-pointed cross with a glancing header at the near post.   

After a less eventful start to the second half, Baktyiar was denied by the sidepost at the hour-mark. Bah then lifted the Rahmatganj fans by leveling the margin with a towering header from Shahedul Alam’s corner.

Sufil got a couple of chances consecutively but ended up squandering both by shooting straight to Liton, after Matin did fine work to set him up unmarked at the middle of the box.

Liton, who made a couple of saves to lift the club past the quarterfinal stage, then had a silly blunder to gift Colindres his third goal of the tournament. The Rahmatganj keeper failed to clear Guinean defender Camara Younoussa’s back-pass, and Colindres snatched the ball before rolling it into an empty net.

Bashundhara, who won the Bangladesh Premier League and Independence Cup in their top-flight debut last season, qualified for the 2021 AFC Cup as reward for their latest triumph.


Rahmatganj 1 (Bah 64) – 2 Bashundhara (Colindres 41, 76)

Rahmatganj: Rasel Mahmud Liton; Acpopob Asrorov (Md Sharif), Camara Younoussa, Mahmudul Hasan Kiron, Nahid Islam; Arafat Hossain, Shahedul Alam, Sanoar Hossain, Shuhel Miah (Didarul Alam), Momodou Bah; Turaev Akobir.

Bashundhara Kings: Anisur Rahman Zico; Topu Barman, Yeasin Khan, Bishwanath Ghosh, Md Ibrahim; Nicolas Delmonte, Baktyiar Duishobekov, Mahbubur Rahman (Emon Mahmud); Akhtam Nazarov, Motin Mia (Tawhidul Alam Sabuz), Daniel Colindres.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail