• Thursday, Mar 23, 2023
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

Mancini names new 28-man Italy squad as Euros approach

  • Published at 07:19 am May 31st, 2021

Paris Saint-Germain striker Moise Kean was the biggest name to be dropped by Mancini

Italy coach Roberto Mancini announced a provisional 28-man squad for Euro 2020 on Sunday as he prepares for their final pre-tournament friendly against the Czech Republic.

Paris Saint-Germain striker Moise Kean was the biggest name to be dropped by Mancini, who kept Kean's PSG teammate Marco Verratti and Inter Milan midfielder Stefano Sensi despite the pair being injured.

The latest squad is not final as it will need to be whittled down to 26 by midnight on Tuesday, a day before Mancini's players are set to meet to prepare for the match against the Czech Republic, which kicks off on June 4.

Compared to the 33-man squad Mancini selected ahead of Friday's 7-0 thumping of San Marino, Sunday's squad list also excluded Cagliari goalkeeper Alessio Cragno, Lazio defender Manuel Lazzari, Vincenzo Grifo, Cristiano Biraghi and Gian Marco Ferrari.

Veteran Juventus defenders Giorgio Chiellini and Leonardo Bonucci were called up, as well as Jorginho and Emerson Palmieri who are fresh from Champions League victory with Chelsea.

Matteo Politano, Matteo Pessina and Atalanta defender Rafael Toloi also get the nod after good displays against San Marino.

Also Read: Southgate names 33-man provisional England squad for Euros

The Azzurri are a team reborn under Mancini after their shock failure to qualify for the 2018 World Cup and are undefeated in 26 games.

Italy are in Group A at the Euro and will face Turkey in the tournament's opening match on June 11 in Rome. They will also play Switzerland on June 16 and Wales on June 20, also in the Italian capital.

Italy squad announced on Sunday:

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan), Alex Meret (Napoli), Salvatore Sirigu (Torino)

Defenders: Francesco Acerbi (Lazio), Alessandro Bastoni (Inter Milan), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Napoli), Emerson Palmieri (Chelsea/ENG), Alessandro Florenzi (Paris Saint-Germain/FRA), Gianluca Mancini (Roma), Leonardo Spinazzola (Roma), Rafael Toloi (Atalanta)

Midfielders: Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan), Bryan Cristante (Roma), Jorginho (Chelsea/UK), Manuel Locatelli (Sassuolo), Lorenzo Pellegrini (Roma), Matteo Pessina (Atalanta), Stefano Sensi (Inter Milan), Marco Verratti (Paris Saint-Germain/FRA)

Forwards: Andrea Belotti (Torino), Domenico Berardi (Sassuolo), Federico Bernardeschi (Juventus), Federico Chiesa (Juventus), Ciro Immobile (Lazio), Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Matteo Politano (Napoli).

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail