• Sunday, Jan 29, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

BHF imposes bans on five officials

  • Published at 03:14 pm November 26th, 2018
On June 7 this year in the final match of the league, Mohammedan protested Mariner’s equaliser and sought for video referral Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

The five officials are Mohammedan manager Asaduzzaman Chandan and Ariful Haq Prince, Mariners general secretary Hasanullah Khan Rana and Nazrul Islam, and judge Naziur Rahman

The Bangladesh Hockey Federation Monday imposed long-term bans on five officials, including two each from domestic giants Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited and Mariner Youngs Club, due to the chaos between the two sides during the deciding premier division match on June 7 this year.

The five officials are Mohammedan manager Asaduzzaman Chandan and Ariful Haq Prince, Mariner general secretary Hasanullah Khan Rana and Nazrul Islam, and judge Naziur Rahman.

Prince, Chandan and Rana were handed five-year suspension from all sorts of hockey activities, along with fine of Tk1 lakh each. 

The ban could extend to a further two years if they fail to pay the fines. 

Mariner official Nazrul received a three-year ban, along with a fine of Tk50,000, while Wari member Naziur also got a three-year suspension.

BHF general secretary Abdus Sadek said following an executive committee meeting Monday that the federation took the decisions in accordance with the by-laws after receiving complaints of breaching disciplinary codes against all of them. 

He termed that day as a “black day in the country’s hockey.”

It was the last match in the Super Five Round of the Premier Division Hockey League at Maulana Bhasani National Stadium on June 7. 

The game couldn’t hear the final whistle owing to some unprofessional incidents which forced the game to get postponed after the 44th minute. 

The BHF later declared Mohammedan champion after five months.

Meanwhile, the federation also decided to relegate Usha Krira Chakra from the premier league after the traditional hockey powerhouse denied to participate in the last edition.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail