• Sunday, Sep 25, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Russell win unprecedented treble

  • Published at 11:16 am May 2nd, 2013

On September 28, 2012, a star studded Sheikh Russell Krira Chakra completed the formalities of registering their players and boldly declared their intention of sweeping all titles next season. On May 1, 2013, it was mission accomplished, as the club achieved the unprecedented feat in style with a 2-1 win over Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club at the Bangabandhu National Stadium on Wednesday. No Dhaka club has won all the three Dhaka football titles in a season and Russell set the new standard by winning the Federation Cup, Independence Cup and their ultimate target- the title of the Grameenphone Bangladesh Premier League. Dhaka Mohammedan won the National Football League, the Federation Cup and the Premier League in 2002 but the National Football League was not a Dhaka based competition. Russell's potential was always evident as they formed the best team on paper. Upon their arrival in the top-tier of national football in 2003, Russell claimed the runner-up prize in the now defunct premier league. Nonetheless, until now, their greatest achievement had been finishing third three times in the professional league. They chose to reveal their squad on the 66th birthday of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, who is the chief patron of the club and the elder sister of Sheikh Russell, under whose name the team plays. The squad included eight current national players and two former national players. Maruful Haque was in the hot chair of the coach. Russell defied all the odds and won the treble. In the match that sealed the feat, the teams showed the strength of character that has given life to their undoubted abilities. Nigerian forward Alfred Emoefe flicked a low cross from Towhidul Alam in the near post to put Russell behind. Winger Jahid Hossain restored the parity in the 54th minute, placing the rebound from Moroccan forward Tarique Al Janaby's crossbar hitting free kick into the net. The win was secured after winger Jahid Hossain was brought down on the edge of the box by Jamal defender Yeamin Ahmed Chowdhury Munna, and Emily made no mistake with the penalty to hand Russell the title with one match still to play. With the win Russell reached an unassailable lead of 35 points and will play Feni Soccer in the last match to complete the formalities. Former national keeper Biplob Bhattacharya lead the team  that contained Goalkeepers: , Md Nehal, Golam Mostofa Tuan, Defenders: Aminul Islam, Uttam Kumar Banik, Rezaul Karim Reza, Mamum Mia, Nasirul Islam Nasir, Ashraf Mahmud Linkon, Bappi Hasan Murad, Tanvir Rana, : Jahid Hossain, Mamunul Islam, Emon Mahmud Babu, Rajon Miah, Imrul Hasan Imu, Md Shumon, Forwards: Zahid Hasan Emily, Mithun Chowdhury, Anwar Hossain.Foreign recruits: Mohammed AbouKacem (Forward, Morocco) Tarik el Janaby (Midfielder Morrcco), Sony Norde (Midfield, Haiti) Nurul Alam Chowdhury, the president of Sheikh Russell was happy with the proceedings. “In the past we fought for the championship and this year we were successful. It was the perfect teamwork that made all the difference.”

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail