• Saturday, Oct 01, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Pro-AL panel sweeps RUTA polls

  • Published at 09:09 am March 21st, 2015

Ruling Awami League and Progressive teachers-backed Yellow Panel has swept to victory in almost all posts except a member post to the 15 members election of Rajshahi University Teachers' Association (RUTA).

Yellow Panel’s Prof Ananda Kumar Saha of Zoology department and Prof M Rezaul Karim Badal of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology department were elected as president and general secretary getting 476 and 491 votes respectively.

Prof Habibur Rahman, the outgoing treasurer of RUTA who also conducted the polls as chief election commissioner, declared the result of the polls at around 7pm on Saturday.

The election to the RUTA 15-member executive committee was held at Zubeeri building from 8am to 2pm Saturday on the campus.

The BNP-Jamaat-backed White Panel’s candidate for the president and general secretary posts Prof Dr Mohammad Abu Bakar of Applied Chemistry and Chemical Engineering department and Prof Dr Abdul Alim of Agronomy and Agriculture Extension department were beaten by 42 and 58 votes respectively.

Dr M Rafikul Ahsan Ronju of Physics department, Dr Mohammad Omar Faruk Sarker of Marketing department and Mohammad Shatil Siraj Shuvo of Mass Communication and Journalism department were also elected as vice president, treasurer and joint secretary respectively.

The 9 elected members from Yellow Panel out of total 10 members posts are Dr. Mizanur Rahman Khan of Bangla department, Dr Firoj Alam of Botany, Dr AKM Akhter Hossain Liton of Computer Science and Engineering, Syeeda Nusrat Jahan Sompa of Fisheries, Dr Rejaul Karim of Language, Sheikh Muhammad Nurullah of Management Studies, Dr Abul Alim of Law, Dr Mortuza Khaled Dipu of History and Prof Ansar Uddin of Political Science department.

Dr Bijay Krishna Banik of Sociology from Yellow Panel was beaten by White Panel member candidate Sonjida Moed Runa of Music department.

Election commissioner Prof Habibur Rahman informed that a total of 960 votes out 1,169, have recorded to cast.

Meanwhile, RU Vice Chancellor Prof Muhammad Mizanuddin and Pro-Vice Chancellor Prof Chowdhury Sarwar Jahan and different political and cultural organisations of the university congratulated the newly elected body of RUTA.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail