• Saturday, Aug 13, 2022
  • Last Update : 03:54 pm

Faridpur win national hockey title

  • Published at 06:26 pm April 6th, 2015
Faridpur win national hockey title

Faridpur clinched their third national hockey title beating Bangladesh Navy by 2-1 goals in an intense final of the ATN Bangla Gold Cup National Hockey at the Maulana Bhashani National Hockey Stadium yesterday.

Bangladesh Navy, playing their first national final, appeared to be overwhelmed by the occasion as national stars Russell Mahmud Jimmy, Mamunur Rahman Chayan and Moinul Islam Koushik failed to provide the winning touch. 

Faridpur, however, responded with Hasan Jubaer Niloy, Pushkor Khisha Mimo and Rabbi Salehin Rockey who are also among the frontrunners in the national attack. Moreover hard working former national stalwarts Musa Miah and Moshiur Rahman Biplob added the extra edge for the eventual champions.

Midfielder Prashanta Kumar Sarker put Faridpur ahead in the 23rd minute after the first quarter of 15 minutes finished goalless. However, two minutes later Koushik restored the parity. Drag specialist Chayan’s effort rebounded off the gloves of Faridpur goalkeeper Monowar Hossain only to see unmarked Koushik pushed rebound into the post.

Mahbub Harun, the Faridpur coach said he instructed his players to stop the long ball game of Navy and deployed a sweeper back and it worked.

His counterpart Mamunur Rashid said his players dominated the game and opened the opponent defence on a number of occasions but lack of finishing touch cost them the title.

The winners purse was Tk50000 while the runners-up received Tk30000 respectively. Mahfuzur Rahman, the chairman of the tournament committee and ATN Bangla, distributed the prizes as the chief guest while BHF vice president Abdus Sadeque and other federation officials were also present on the occasion.