• Wednesday, May 25, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Newcomers Shinepukur, Agrani off to winning start

  • Published at 12:39 am February 7th, 2018
  • Last updated at 12:41 am February 7th, 2018
Newcomers Shinepukur, Agrani off to winning start
Abahani Limited, Shinepukur Cricket Club and Agrani Bank Cricket Club were off to victorious starts to the season, winning their respective games on the opening day of the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League season 2017-18 Monday. All the matches turned out to be low-scoring affairs with no side, batting first, able to post more than 188 runs, despite six half-centuries recorded in three matches. Newly promoted premier league sides Agrani Bank and Shinepukur started their campaign with wins in their respective matches. Abahani v Khelaghar Boosted by three wickets each by Mashrafe bin Mortaza, Sanjamul Islam and Saqlain Sajib, title contender Abahani recorded a convincing nine-wicket victory over Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity at BKSP Ground 4. Khelaghar batted first but found themselves struggling. Mashrafe, Sanjamul and Saqlain picked up three wickets each as Khelaghar were restricted for just 154 in 41 overs. Moinul Islam Sohel scored 43, the best of Khelaghar’s innings. Chasing the target, Anamul Haque, who got transferred to Abahani from Khelaghar, scored an unbeaten 86 to steer Abahani to the shore in 25.2 overs with nine wickets intact. Wicketkeeper-batsman Anamul in his 73-ball innings struck half a dozen boundaries and five over boundaries. Prime Doleshwar v Shinepukur Afif Hossain and Shuvagata Hom’s half centuries guided Shinepukur to a win as they defeated Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club by five wickets in Fatullah’s Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium. Batting first, Marshal Ayub scored 76 off 94 deliveries to enable Prime Doleshwar to 188 for the loss of seven wickets. Sujon Howlader and Shuvagata bagged two wickets each for Shinepukur. In reply, Shuvagata added 58 while Afif scored 56 as Shinepukur sailed to their target for the loss of five wickets with 19.3 overs to spare. Shuvagata in his 76-ball knock struck six fours and one six while Afif hammered six boundaries and two sixers. Gazi Group v Agrani Bank Unbeaten fifties by Soumya Sarkar and Rifatullah boosted Agrani Bank to an eight-wicket win against holder Gazi Group Cricketers at BKSP Ground 3. A joint effort by the bowlers saw Gazi Group bundled out for 176. Later, Agrani Bank chased down the target with 11 overs and two wickets intact. Batting first, Gazi Group struggled to post a defendable score as only four batsmen reached double figure. Mehedi Hasan scored 46, the most in Gazi Group’s innings as Shahbaz Chohan took three wickets to lead the Agrani Bank bowlers’ chart. Later, Soumya remained unbeaten on 89 while Rifat added 55 to the chase as Agrani Bank kicked off the season with a win. BRIEF SCORES Abahani 155/1 in 25.2 overs (Anamul 86*, Ashok 1/21) beat Khelaghar 154 in 41 overs (Mashrafe 3/23, Saqlain 3/26) by nine wickets Shinepukur 189/5 in 30.3 overs (Shuvagata 58, Afif 56) beat Prime Doleshwar 188/7 (Marshal 74, Sujon 2/28) by five wickets Agrani Bank 178/2 in 39 overs (Soumya 89, Rifat 55) beat Gazi Group 176 in 46 overs (Mehedi 46, Shahbaz 3/31) by eight wickets  
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail