• Monday, Feb 06, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Japan lifts Covid travel ban on Bangladesh, five other nations

  • Published at 04:54 pm September 19th, 2021
Travellers from Bangladesh to face stricter re-entry rules in Japan
File photo: A view of the domestic departure lobby of Tokyo's Haneda airport on July 25, 2020 AFP

The entry ban was imposed in June as part of Japan’s quarantine measures on all foreign nationals who spent time in the six countries within 14 days prior to their intended arrival

Travellers from Bangladesh will be allowed to enter Japan from Monday as the East Asian nation has lifted travel ban on six countries previously blacklisted for curbing the transmission of Covid-19.

The rest countries are Afghanistan, India, Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka, reports The Japan Times, adding that the decision was taken on Friday. 

The six countries have been covered by a near-total entry ban on foreign nationals, including those who have been vaccinated and those with a valid residence status in Japan.

The entry ban was imposed earlier this year as part of Japan’s quarantine measures on all foreign nationals who spent time in the six countries within 14 days prior to their intended arrival.

The government announced Friday evening that the measure, which was introduced in June, would be lifted for the six nations.

The end of the entry ban for the six countries is part of a major revision of Japan’s quarantine policy. With the change, the government has introduced a three-day mandatory stay in government-designated facilities for travelers from more than 40 countries and regions due to the spread of the coronavirus and its variants, in particular.

Arrivals subject to the mandatory three-day measure will be required to undergo tests for Covid-19 on the third day of their stay in self-isolation after entering Japan, in addition to a test conducted on arrival.

Also Read- Thai visas for non-Thai nationals in Bangladesh from Monday

Those who test negative will be allowed to return to their homes in Japan or to a facility of their choosing for the remainder of their 14-day quarantine period.

The measure will apply to: Afghanistan, Argentina, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Britain, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Denmark, Dominica, Ecuador, Georgia, Greece, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Libya, Malaysia, the Maldives, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, the Philippines, Portugal, Russia (but only arrivals from Khabarovsk and Moscow), Seychelles, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, UAE, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela and Zambia.

Travelers coming from other countries and regions are still required to self-isolate after entering Japan.

Under the revised policy, the government has reassessed travel risks based on factors such as the number of infections in each of the listed countries or regions, the risk of the spread of variants and the countries’ respective Covid-19 vaccine rollouts.

If needed, the government said it would reimpose stricter quarantine measures such as a longer mandatory stay in government-picked facilities ー for six or 10 days ー along with additional tests for the coronavirus. 

Such rules might be reintroduced if the coronavirus situation abroad worsens. These measures would likely be accompanied by an entry ban for some foreign nationals, including residents of Japan.

Currently all people entering the country must self-isolate for 14 days at home or at other facilities and must not use public transportation throughout that time period.

Despite earlier promises by the government to shorten the quarantine period for people inoculated against the coronavirus from 14 to 10 days, that is not part of the latest changes. 

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail