• Sunday, Nov 27, 2022
  • Last Update : 08:24 am

Russia expels 7 EU diplomats over 'solidarity' with Czechs

  • Published at 11:10 am April 28th, 2021
The national flag flutters on top of the Russian embassy in Prague, Czech Republic, February 27,2020. REUTERS/David W Cerny/File Photo
The national flag flutters on top of the Russian embassy in Prague, Czech Republic, February 27,2020 Reuters

Prague expelled a number of Russian diplomats this month, with Slovakia and the Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania following suit in solidarity

Moscow on Wednesday expelled seven European diplomats after their countries ordered Russian diplomats to leave in solidarity with the Czech Republic, which is engulfed in a diplomatic row with Russia.

The Czech government this month accused Russian secret services of being behind a deadly explosion at an arms depot in the eastern Czech Republic in 2014.

It expelled a number of Russian diplomats over the allegations, with Slovakia and the Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania following suit in solidarity.

Russia's foreign ministry on Tuesday said in a statement that a total of four diplomats from Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania have been declared "persona non grata" and must leave the country within seven days.

It added that the Baltic states "continue to conduct an openly hostile course towards our country, in this case hiding behind pseudo solidarity with the indiscriminate actions of the Czech Republic towards Russia".

In a separate statement, the ministry also announced the expulsion of three Slovak diplomats, who must leave by May 5, and accused Bratislava of "false solidarity" with Prague. 

Slovakia's actions "damage the traditionally friendly Russian-Slovak relations and constructive bilateral cooperation," the statement added.

Earlier this month, Prague expelled 18 Russian diplomats over the spy allegations. 

Moscow retaliated by kicking out 20 Czech embassy staff and both sides imposed a ceiling on embassy workers, meaning dozens more will have to leave by next month.

The Czech Republic also asked its partners in the European Union and Nato to expel Russian diplomats in solidarity.

Slovakia, which formed a single country with the Czech Republic until 1993, expelled three Russian diplomats, while the Baltic states, which were once part of the Soviet Union, ordered four Russian diplomats to return to Moscow.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail