• Thursday, Jun 30, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Meghalaya BJP legislators oppose Citizenship Bill

  • Published at 10:49 pm January 13th, 2019
web-meghalay-google map
Meghalaya of India on Google map

Notably, Meghalaya shares a 443 km-international border with Bangladesh

Two BJP legislators from the Northeast Indian state of Meghalaya have sent a memorandum to India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi to vent opposition against the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill.

The memorandum was sent by legislators Sanbor Shullai and A L Hek during BJP’s National Convention held at Delhi on January 11-12.

The memorandum stated the bill would further exacerbate the existing problem of influx of illegal immigrants from Bangladesh which is ailing Meghalaya since India’s independence in 1947.

It also stated the bill has provoked widespread negative sentiments among the people of India’s Northeast and undermined the ongoing National Register of Citizens (NRC) update which like the Assam Accord uses the midnight of March 24, 1971 as the cut-off date to determine the list of Assam’s citizens.

Also Read- BJP defends Amit Shah’s statement on expelling infiltrators

The Assam Accord was signed on August 15, 1985 as a result of the six-year long anti-foreigners agitation in Assam which sought to expel illegal immigrants from the state. The movement was led by the All Assam Students’ Union (AASU).

On the other hand, the memorandum stated the bill would enfeeble the strength of the indigenous population of Meghalaya.

Notably, Meghalaya shares a 443 km-international border with Bangladesh.

The Citizenship (Amendment) Bill was introduced by the Narendra Modi-led BJP government in the Indian Parliament on July 2016 and seeks to grant citizenship to refugees trying to escape persecution from Bangladesh, Pakistan and Afghanistan belonging to the Hindu, Christian, Buddhist, Jain, Sikh and Parsi community.

The bill has been passed in the Lok Sabha which is the lower house of the Indian Parliament on January 8. It is yet to be passed in the Rajya Sabha which is the Upper House of the Indian Parliament.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail