• Sunday, Sep 25, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

West Bengal polls: Politicians banned from visiting Cooch Behar after violence

  • Published at 06:28 am April 11th, 2021
West Bengal State Election India
A paramilitary personnel stands guard as people wait to cast their votes at a polling station during the state legislative elections, at South 24 Parganas district, about 70 km from Kolkata on April 6, 2021 AFP

Four people were killed in firing by security forces during voting on Saturday

The Election Commission of India on Saturday banned politicians from entering West Bengal's Cooch Behar district for the next three days, after four people were killed in firing by central forces during the fourth phase of voting for Assembly polls, PTI reported.

The poll body also extended the silence period for the next phase of the West Bengal elections, which is scheduled to take place on April 17, from 48 hours to 72 hours. This will cut short the campaigning period.

The Election Commission also directed the special police observer and the chief electoral officer of West Bengal to keep updating it about the developments in Cooch Behar over the next 72 hours, NDTV reported.

It had said earlier on Saturday that the clashes took place outside a polling booth in the district after local residents attacked security forces due to a misunderstanding. 

Also Read - 5 shot dead in election violence in West Bengal

The poll body added that Central Industrial Security Force personnel were trying to help a boy who had fallen ill near the polling booth in Sitalkuchi, but local residents thought that he was being beaten up and called about 300 to 350 villagers to the spot.

The Election Commission said that security forces had no option but to open fire to save their lives and government property. Voting was adjourned at the polling booth after the violence.

The poll body also asked the Union Home Ministry to send 71 more companies of Central Armed Police forces to West Bengal. At present, 1,000 companies are stationed in West Bengal.

The Trinamool Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party blamed each other for the incident. 

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said it was a "planned attack" and accused the central forces of murdering people. 

Also Read - Mamata demands Amit Shah's resignation over WB poll killings

She said that Bengal Police Crime Investigation Department would conduct an inquiry into the incident.

"Home Minister Amit Shah is completely responsible for today's incident and he himself is the conspirator," the chief minister said. 

"I don't blame central forces because they work under Home Minister's order. We will demand his [Amit Shah] resignation."

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, on the other hand, criticized Banerjee and her party. 

"What happened in Cooch Behar is sad...I offer condolences to bereaved families," he said. "Mamata Didi and her goons are jittery because of groundswell of support for the BJP."

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail