• Friday, Feb 03, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Trinamool Congress makes Mamata's nephew second-in-command

  • Published at 05:49 pm June 5th, 2021
West Bengal Election Results
A supporter of the Chief Minister of West Bengal state and the Chief of Trinamool Congress (TMC) Mamata Banerjee, wearing a face shield with her image on it, gestures during celebrations after the initial poll results, amid the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19), in Kolkata, India onMay 2, 2021 Reuters

Abhishek Banerjee, 33, joined politics as a member of the Trinamool Congress in 2011 after the party decimated the Left Front

The Indian state of West Bengal's ruling Trinamool Congress on Saturday elevated Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee's nephew Abhishek to the party's second highest post, putting an end to speculation over the future role of her heir apparent.

Member of Parliament Abhishek Banerjee was made the general secretary at the regional party's first organizational meet since it swept back to power in the last month's assembly elections in the state. This was announced by the Trinamool Congress in a statement to the media.

The 33-year-old youth leader joined politics as a member of the Trinamool Congress in 2011 after the party decimated the Left Front, a coalition of Communist parties, which ruled Bengal for 34 years. This year, Abhishek was instrumental in hiring poll strategist Prashant Kishor.

Last month, Mamata scripted history by singlehandedly pulling off an astounding victory in the assembly election. She defied anti-incumbency and staved off a huge challenge from Prime Minister Narendra Modi's ruling BJP.

Also Read - Mamata thanks Momen, highlights stronger bonding

Though her party swept back to power with a resounding majority of 213 seats in the 292-member assembly, the 66-year-old lost her own seat in Nandigram to her former protege-turned-rival Suvendu Adhikari by a thin margin of around 2,000 votes.

"This is Bangla's win ... this is Bengal's win ... this is your win. This win has saved Bengal, it has saved the culture and tradition of Bengal," she said, addressing a press meet on the counting day.

Mamata had, however, made it clear in that presser that she would challenge the result in a court of law. "How come the Election Commission reversed the results in Nandigram after formally announcing it? We will move court."

The BJP though has made major gains in Bengal, winning some 77 seats. In 2016, the party had just three legislators in the state. However, the Left Front has failed to grab a single seat this time. The Left Front ruled Bengal for 34 years — from 1977 to 2011.

Bengal witnessed the most high-profile contest in India's recently held state elections. While Mamata harped on being Bengal’s daughter, the BJP asked people to vote for "change and socio-economic development" after 50 years of Communist and Trinamool Congress rule.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail