• Saturday, Mar 25, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Saarc meeting cancelled after Pakistan 'sought Taliban inclusion'

  • Published at 08:04 am September 22nd, 2021
Saarc flags

The meeting was scheduled to be held on the sidelines of the United Nations General Assembly session in New York on Saturday

A meeting of the foreign ministers of the member countries of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation, or Saarc, has been cancelled after differences emerged over who should represent Afghanistan, The Indian Express reported.

The meeting was scheduled to be held on the sidelines of the United Nations General Assembly session in New York on Saturday. India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan are part of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation.

The Taliban seized control of Afghanistan on August 15 in a lightning offensive as former President Ashraf Ghani fled the country. But, no world power has yet recognised the Taliban government. Pakistan, Afghanistan’s southeastern neighbour, has urged the world to “engage” with the insurgent group and immediately help the new government prevent an imminent economic collapse.

Also Read - Bring back Saarc: A quick Afghan reminder

For the Saarc meeting, Pakistan opposed the participation of representatives from the previous Ashraf Ghani regime. Islamabad instead wanted a representative of the Taliban to participate in the meeting, The Indian Express reported, citing unidentified officials.

Member countries, however, rejected the proposal as the Taliban has not gained international legitimacy.

A senior Indian government official told NDTV that the insurgent group has “no authority” and cannot speak on global platforms.

The former Pakistan High Commissioner to India, Abdul Basit, said on Twitter that the matter of representation of Afghanistan “in the meeting became the bone of contention”.

Nepal, the current Saarc chair, said in a letter that the meeting was cancelled “due to the lack of concurrence from all member states”.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail